AEM Announces ‘I Make America’ Award Winners

MILWAUKEE (November 10, 2017) – A record number of equipment manufacturing industry companies were recognized for their outstanding commitment to advocacy efforts on behalf of the industry at the Association of Equipment Manufacturers’ (AEM) recent Annual Conference.

I Make America Awards Legacy original
Representatives from four AEM 2017 I Make America Legacy Award winners are pictured at the recent AEM annual conference (L-R) with AEM President Dennis Slater (far right) and AEM Vice President Kip Eideberg (far left): Jason Andringa of Vermeer Corp., Ken Cook of Ken Cook Co., Jerry Johnson of Blount International and John Lagemann of Deere & Co.
Thirty companies received AEM’s highest honor for their participation in I Make America, the association’s national grassroots campaign that advances the equipment manufacturing industry’s policy priorities. Twenty-two companies were recognized as Gold level supporters of I Make America, while an additional eight companies were honored as Legacy Award winners for reaching Gold level for five consecutive years.
AEM Advocates Awards/Miscellaneous AEM Annual Conference
Representatives from several of the 22 companies honored with AEM 2017 I Make America Gold Awards are pictured at the recent AEM Annual Conference with AEM President Dennis Slater (far right) and AEM Vice President Kip Eideberg (far left).
“I Make America’s success depends on the strong support of member companies and their employees to educate elected officials about the equipment manufacturing industry’s role in driving economic prosperity and quality of life for all Americans,” said AEM President Dennis Slater. “The companies honored are leading the way for the Association’s advocacy efforts and we want to publicly thank them for their outstanding commitment and efforts.”
This year’s I Make America campaign – themed “Our Products. Our Jobs.” – brought a record number of elected officials to AEM member companies across the country. In addition, AEM members descended upon Washington in September for the first-ever I Make America Fly-In, where member company executives visited with 100 congressional offices and Trump administration officials to advance the industry’s policy priorities.
“This year our member companies hosted a record-number of elected officials at equipment manufacturing facilities across the country to make the case for infrastructure investment, tax reform, free trade and a strong agricultural economy,” said AEM Vice President Kip Eideberg. “The success of our advocacy efforts is in large part due to the outstanding support of our member companies.”
AEM Advocates Awards/Miscellaneous AEM Annual Conference
Bob Crain of AGCO Corp., AEM Government & Public Affairs Committee chair, announces the AEM 2017 I Make America advocacy award winners at the recent AEM annual conference.

2017 Legacy Award Winners

  • Blount International
  • Carlson Paving Products
  • Deere & Company
  • InQuest Marketing
  • Ken Cook Co.
  • Stellar Industries
  • Terex Corporation
  • Vermeer Corporation

2017 Gold Award Winners

  • AGCO Corporation
  • Astec Mobile Screens
  • Calder Brothers
  • Caterpillar Inc.
  • CLAAS of America, Inc.
  • CNH Industrial
  • Cummins, Inc.
  • Custom Products of Litchfield, Inc.
  • Doosan Bobcat
  • General Kinematics
  • Gradall Industries
  • Hardi North America, Inc.
  • JCB, Inc.
  • JLG Industries
  • Johnson Crushers International
  • KOBELCO Construction Machinery USA, Inc.
  • Kolberg Pioneer
  • Kondex Corporation
  • Manitou Americas, Inc.
  • Sioux Corporation
  • Volvo Construction Equipment
  • Weiler

For more information about I Make America, please visit